About Gemstone Mining

Taita Taveta County

Taita Taveta County is one of the 47 counties of Kenya. It is located approximately 340 km southeast of the capital city of Nairobi and about 170 km northwest of Mombasa.

The Gemstones

Taita Taveta County is home to a host of many coloured stones which are used for making make jewellery and other adornments.

Gemstone Mining Sector

Gemstone mining in Taita Taveta County occurs at three levels: large-scale, small-scale and artisanal mining. As at 2021, there were only two large-scale gemstone mines in the County